Beautiful Dreamer, Wake Unto Me

My life ebbs and flows around sleep these days. I certainly don’t get enough of it, and what I do get is so sporadic and brief that I am starting to have elaborate fantasies involving ear plugs, an eye mask, a few pillows and a pile of blankets. With a 4 month old and a 2 1/2 year old, most nights are filled with random wake ups involving bottles, diaper changes, potty trips to the bathroom, bad dreams and the occasional “Jimmy Legs” of my husband. The worst nights are those where everyone is peacefully sleeping for LONG stretches and I am in hyper alert mom mode and wake myself every 20 minutes wondering if I heard someone cry, or if I should go check on the girls because I DIDN’T hear them cry.

My 4 month old is an amazing sleeper. I am the mom that I hated when my eldest was a baby and wouldn’t sleep more than 2 hours at a time. I try not to tell people what a great sleeper she is so that I don’t sound like I’m bragging to all the sleep deprived moms I know. I worry that she sleeps too well at times. I wake myself up dreaming that something is wrong, so I quietly scurry into the nursery to check on her. There she lay, quietly sucking her thumb, a little angel in her bed. I know that I need to relish this time, because as with everything baby, this too will change!

We now are in the territory of “bad dreams” with my toddler. She can tell you that she had a bad dream, but isn’t quite at the point of being able to share what the dream was about. Last night she cried out and when I went in to check on her she told me she had had a bad dream. I looked at the tears in her eyes and felt so bad that I couldn’t do more than snuggle with her as she calmed down. Once she was settled we just laid in bed and gazed into each other’s eyes. Those big beautiful eyes of my daughter. She started to smile as I told her how much I loved her and that she was brave and strong and smart and funny and patient and kind. Looking up at me with a big grin she asked “Chauky Milk?” Of course I can get you a cup my most amazing little girl! Of course I can.

Beautiful dreamer, wake unto me,
Starlight and dewdrops are waiting for thee;
Sounds of the rude world, heard in the day,
Lull’d by the moonlight have all pass’d away!
Beautiful dreamer, queen of my song,
List while I woo thee with soft melody;
Gone are the cares of life’s busy throng,
Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!
Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!

- Steven Foster “Beautiful Dreamer”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Foster

2 comments

  1. C. Heilman-Tess · · Reply

    This is by far one of my favorite posts!!

Leave a Reply

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

This Life After Single

Mommy time diaries....

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Letters to Chace & Harper

Special messages from a mom to her son and daughter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

